I need someone to explain elctricity to me.

vclark321

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
I am new to all of this, but is it or would it be possible to hook up a stationary bike to a bayyery that powers a heater. I am not looking for more than a couple of hours to run the heater, but I want it ti be power I can generate & get my workout in at the same time. I will try the library too for more information. Thank you!

ScottSD

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
vclark321 said:
I am new to all of this, but is it or would it be possible to hook up a stationary bike to a bayyery that powers a heater. I am not looking for more than a couple of hours to run the heater, but I want it ti be power I can generate & get my workout in at the same time. I will try the library too for more information. Thank you!
It is possible, but not sure how much "heat" you're talking about. Enough to heat a house?

That is unlikely.

I don't have a lot of time to go into it now, but ohms law is still ohms law and you can't change it.

valmom

Crafter
Reaction score
Hmm. I'd bet sunsaver or someone else could jury rig up something that would use human power on a bike to re-charge batteries. There are some pretty handy people on here. How hard could it be?

k0xxx

Mr. Sunshine
Reaction score
vclark321 said:
I hate to be a wet blanket, but if you're talking about even a room size heater, this isn't going to work. You may be able to generate something like 100 watts constant, or maybe even 300 - 400 peak, if you are in great physical shape. Most room size heaters are in the 1000w - 1500w range. Even with the 12v car size heaters, it would be tough to power them for anything other than a few minutes of heavy peddling. You also run into the problem with the fact that as the wattage production of a generator increases, the force needed to turn the generator increases. You would be much better off just wearing warm clothes, and removing some as you warm up. Sorry.

savingdogs

Queen Filksinger