lay offs

user251

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
as you probably know i am a firefighter. I work in a major city and we got word yesterday to expect cut backs and were ordered to begin cutting back on items we use if at all possible and that there will be no new hires in the near future. I have also heard of city's laying off police and firefighters because of the economy. Just curious what your city's and towns are doing during these rough times and what your opinions are toward this. I know that police and firefighters are not immune to the layoffs but it usually hits us last if at all. Just curious. Also after seeing all the idiots on t.v. on black Friday i am not sure if there is any economic trouble, these people were acting like animals and spending like there was no tomorrow. whats your take on that too.

keljonma

Epicurean Goddess
Reaction score
The two local fire departments are all volunteer.

Haven't heard anything about local police lay offs... they don't have many personnel.

The local school district is $500k in the hole and laying off service staff, which includes (most likely) my DH.

scrambledmess

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Our fire department is also volunteer. I haven't heard about the police or sheriff's departments. I usually see several of these guys at work on the weekends and no one has mentioned anything. Our parish has cut back to two ambulances for the entire parish. We only have two crews working at any one time for the entire parish. But that cutback occurred 2 years ago and didn't have anything to do with the immediate issues in the economy. They seriously can't cut back any further there, because these crews are already run ragged.