mini cows

captchris

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
hi i am new here and am thinking of raisinf mini cows. i dont have much pasture well none realy is it still economical to raise my own beef

TanksHill

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I am no expert and I am sure thaere are many others who have better opinions than I. But when I spoke with a well informed Aunt of mine, she said the cost of buying organic feed and hay for me, would be more that buying half a cow from a butcher. With the mimis, how quickly do they grow? How long would it take to feed one out? I have read up on the mimis a bit. I saw a whole article in the Farmes Alminac. I thought one for milk would be fun.

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
I am looking at getting a dexter cow. I plan on milking and using the offspring (to get the milk) for meat. A dexter needs 1/2 an acre generally of pasture.

The thing with cows though, is because they have four stomachs, they can eat moldy hay, so you can usually pic up a round bale quite cheaply to feed them in the winter. The guy we got our horse hay from--had a crop that got lightly rained on, and he said if I got my cow for this winter--he would sell me a round bale for $20.

Mother Earth News has a few articles on Dexters--you can google them. Dexter cows milk is similar to goats milk only in that people with lactose intolerance can digest dexter milk too. Their meat is very nice--smaller cuts etc, but very tasty. They are a great dual purpose cow for a small farm.

DrakeMaiden

Sourdough Slave
Reaction score
Thanks for the information on dexters, miss_thenorth. That is really cool. I'd be interested in hearing how much feed you buy through the course of the winter, if you get one.

Also, how much stable space does one need? How big are they? Can coyotes attack them? I'm clueless.

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score