Money saving recipes?

angimw

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I just read through all of the posts under "how do you save on your grocery bill?" and it made me think about how sick of cooking the same old recipes I am. What are your cheap and easy go to recipes for dinners and snacks especially? You all offer so much great advice, I can't wait to see what's out there. :D

SSDreamin

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
In The SS Kitchen section on here, there is a thread called 'fun recipe's needed' that has a lot of meal ideas in it. Sorry, I am not good with links :lol:

BTW :welcome

wish I could spell :p

hwillm1977

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
My cheap go to recipe is just chicken, rice, and broccoli... all cut bite sized and mixed together... then smothered in cheese :) It's super simple and yummy.

Or salsa chicken... just dump chicken in the slow cooker, pour a bottle of salsa over... leave it on low for 8 hours, serve over rice and sprinkle with some swiss cheese (or whatever you like)

FarmerChick

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
cheap meals

well they start with CHEAP sales from the store AND in combination with what I grow/can/freeze/preserve on the farm.

I live on chicken mostly. Good thing we all love chicken here. My cheap meals are deer and chicken. Deer probably cost more per lb. than the chickens lol cause hubby loves to buy hunting stuff, but it is alot of 'free' meat. I used to have my own chickens. Now I don't. Sold out of the biz SO I buy chickens from my farmer friends I know. Good thing so many years in the farmer biz I sure know who has what products for sale and they are friends, so when they process....I volunteer to help on that day and I get birds for free. Yup. Delish fresh and into the freezer they go. well worth the trade of time for meat.

So key is get your ingredients cheap. Then you produce cheap meals.