Need a duck expert! Quackly!!

Up-the-Creek

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
We lost one of our ducks to a bobcat the other night. We had the ones that he left locked up with our chickens in the warm and dry. Yesterday we decided to let them out and they went out on the pond. Today our temps has dropped below zero with the windchill. We have tryed to get the ducks off the pond, but they will not leave it and the pond is froze over. My question is,..how cold tolerant are the ducks?? They are sheltered under some berry vines hanging over the pond. I have tryed everything to get them out where we can put them in with the chickens. Will they freeze tonight???? They are Pekins.

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Cute title btw.

I'm no expert, but my Rouens survived a week long winter blast with temps hovering in the teens. They have an uninsulated dog house to seek shelter in. Most nights they were just walking around their run.

DM or WZ should be here soon to give you some tips, they are the experts. Until then I wouldn't worry.

ohiofarmgirl

Sipping Bacon Martinis
Reaction score
i'll throw in my non-duck expert opinion.... but yes waterfowl are REALLY cold hardy. your biggest threat is that stupid bobcat unless your man really winged him.. then hopefully the foxes wont get your ducks.

but

you can check with Cottage Rose over on BYC who is for me (aside from WZ!) the leading authority on cold weather ducks and geese...she's up in Michigan.

the ducks may or may not freeze TO the pond.. which will be troublesome to get them off. but they will probably be ok.. or at least i should say the chance they are going to be ok is greater than the risk to yourself if you tried to go and get them.

we had to start herding our ducks in earlier than we'd have liked when the weather turned. fortunately our momma duck kinda likes the free eats and the soft cushy place to sleep..so the rest follow her.

tomorrow see if you can