Need HELP, goat tore her udder

Wannabefree

Little Miss Sunshine
Reaction score
My cousins goat tore a hole in her udder on some barbed wire, to where milk is coming out. What's the best way any of you know of to prevent further injury? She wants to tape her up, but doesn't know what would be the best way to go about it. Any ideas?

rhoda_bruce

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Oh that poor animal.
Clean it is # one for me. I would imagine you could bandage it, if you have her properly restrained and use some antibiotic ointment. I'd do it twice daily. I'd give her some elder berry flowers to munch on, if ya'll have it growing locally.
Any possible way to confine her to a smaller area, until a an alternative fence can be put up? I use 2X4 wire in my pen.
I am a nurse, although a human nurse, and I love working in wound care......I'd like to say here that ordinarily a nurse gets her orders from a doctor, but sometimes if the doctor is used to the nurse, she tells him/her what she wants. I have always pushed for cleaning wounds with salt water. I find it heals things faster. Sometimes I have even used a pack of salt water in bandage form and everytimes I remove the bandage to clean and change it, it looks better than the last time......but thats just my experience.

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
Sounds like she needs a tetanus shot and some sutures...and good aseptic technique on that suturing and dressing.

rhoda_bruce

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I should have asked, but .....Is this animal, by any chance lactating? That would be a little torture, I would think, but then again, once you stop the milk, next to impossible to start it up again. That would complicate things.

Wannabefree

Little Miss Sunshine
Reaction score