Need help with Pie Crust

Dace

Revolution in Progress
Reaction score
Ok, I am a pretty good cook but I have always struggled with pie crusts (and biscuits...but that is another post)

Anywhoo I refuse to buy a frozen pie crust so I am attempting it again. I used butter flavor crisco and had a heck of a time rolling it out (not because of the crisco just a side note on the fat that I used.) I am not really happy with how it is looking. I have two bottoms in the over blind baking and now I need to make another batch for the top crust.

Should I continue with the butter flavor crisco or just use plain?
Anyone have any idiot proof recipes?

keljonma

Epicurean Goddess
Reaction score
This is my favorite pie crust recipe. You can use them immediately or freeze them.

1 1/2 cups crisco or other vegetable shortening
3 cups all purpose flour
1 egg
5 Tablespoons very cold water
1 Tablespoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon salt

In a large bowl mix shortening and flour together with pastry cutter for about 3 or 4 minutes, until it resembles coarse meal.

In a small bowl, beat egg with a fork and pour it into the flour/shortening mixture. Add water, vinegar and salt. Gently stir together until all ingredients are well combined.

Separate the dough into thirds. Form 3 evenly sized balls of dough and place each into a large ziploc bag. Using a rolling pin, slightly flatten each ball of dough to about 1/2 inch thick. This will make rolling easier later. Seal the bags and place them in the freezer until you need them. If you want to use immediately, put it in the freezer for about 15 to 20 minutes to chill.