New to gardening

annamolly

Power Conserver
Reaction score
I'm new to gardening, and it will soon be my roommates second season gardening, and we're talking about using as much as the usable yard as possible. We don't necessarily want to grow just potatoes and carrots etc that are so cheap to buy they aren't totally worth growing unless we eat a lot of them.

I live in Southern Idaho where its a high desert type climate ie: cold sometimes snowy winters, with hot (100+) summers.

I'm wondering though, what are the best types of things to grow in this type of climate? What grows best in primarily shade or sunlight? We'd love experimenting with veggies/herbs/whatever that we may not typically think to grow.

Any suggestions..tips...warnings...etc?

THANKS!

lwheelr

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Ok, you want to look for varieties of some things that can withstand strong temperature changes.

Medania Spinach
Wando Peas

Those two can handle the early cold, and sudden changes to hot.

Some of your cool season crops can be grown in partial shade to help them with the hot temps, but they may suffer in the cooler temps early on.

Best thing is to get a few seed catalogs and start reading descriptions. :)

Wannabefree

Little Miss Sunshine
Reaction score
Greens
Peas
Lettuces
Onions
Beets
Broccoli
Brussel sprouts

Actually most root crops..and several other crops should do great in your area.

hoosier

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
annamolly said:
I'm new to gardening, and it will soon be my roommates second season gardening, and we're talking about using as much as the usable yard as possible. just We don't necessarily want to grow potatoes and carrots etc that are so cheap to buy they aren't totally worth growing unless we eat a lot of them. ...THANKS!
...a garden without potatoes - in Idaho????:lol:

annamolly

Power Conserver
Reaction score
hoosier said:
annamolly said: