old root cellars

elwood

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
My family and I recently purchased an old farm house on 4 acres. It has an old root cellar. No door currently on it. Anybody have ideas for how I can safely store items in it. I do not know if my canned items will freeze or not. I reside in Nebraska so it does get cold here in the winter. Thanks ahead of time

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
I have no great experience, I'm sure someone will jump in....but that is a great find! I would start by putting a double door on it with insulation, build some sturdy shelves, and get a thermometer with a hydrometer (did I get that right?) and see what the temp and humidity is in each zone of your cellar. Different veggies need different temps and humidity. There can be quite a difference from top to bottom and front to back, as I discovered in my own cellar, when I did this to find the right spot to build my root cellar.

I did store some rutabagas and mangels and pumpkins with great success even without building the door on mine yet.

The humidity required to store many veggies is too high for the metal in canning jar lids. Ones I had stored in the same area of my cellar rusted out. One tuna can even disintegrated in a few months....:sick

Oh, and :welcome

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
elwood said:
My family and I recently purchased an old farm house on 4 acres. It has an old root cellar. No door currently on it. Anybody have ideas for how I can safely store items in it. I do not know if my canned items will freeze or not. I reside in Nebraska so it does get cold here in the winter. Thanks ahead of time
Elwood, welcome to the forum! :) I would go with Free's advice about putting up a double-thick or very insulated door first. Does your cellar have dirt mounded up around the sides? Does it have a building on top of it, called a cellar house? Is the ceiling insulated?