Pressure canning DISASTER

GardenWeasel

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
OK I am still a novice of 1 year pressure canning so I confidently go about setting up my tomato quarts. Now I did successfully can 16 quarts last year so I am not freaking or anything. Well at the end of the 15 minutes for crushed tomato canning I shut her down and wait for the pressure doohicky to drop. As I am running in and out cleaning chicken waterers and such I notice it is taking a looong time to drop and then I hear a sonic boom. Well the pressure is still not down so I am not going to open it- another sonic boom and as the pressure button drops what I swear is the tinkling of breaking glass. Now I am a bit freaked and it is still really hot so my manual says I can let them cool right in the cannerand I do cause it is so hot in the house and flip on the air and go to bed. Morning comes and I open the canner sure at least a few jars broke. No broken jars! The lids blew off of 3 and tomato all over everything. The only thing I can think I did wrong was have watery tomatoes or after I stole boiling water for the canning lids I may have added more water back into the canner than I should have. Any body with ideas? My tomatoes are like gold here and it is so sad to strain out all that greatness for chicken food. Help me so I don't waste more food.

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
No broken jars? No shrapnel wounds? Not a disaster......just a major annoyance. It happens to all of us!! And will probably remain a mystery. Maybe the lids were bad, maybe the jars too full....maybe the pressure spiked, maybe it was cooling too fast (doubt it), you may never know. But they were not too watery....I can plain broth all the time, and that is ALL water, basically.

I have hard water and I put white vinegar in the water in the canner so I can't even salvage anything for the critters...but usually my annoyances are broken jars, or unsealed and spitting jars, never had a lid blow like that.