Pressure canning pork~ideas, tips and recipes please

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Free you mentioned you were going to be pressure canning some of your pork. I am new to pressure canning and will be getting tons of pork back from the butcher soon. My hog was well over 325#'s so I'm expecting a lot of meat. Most will be put in the freezer however I know I'm sure to run out of room.

Free or anyone else, please share your ideas, tips and recipes on pressure canning pork. Things like what cuts of pork work best and how you plan to use them when you open the can later...soups, stews, etc?

Also, how long will pork be good for canned?

(Please keep in mind, I'm still a newbie pressure canner.)

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
I take a fairly simple approach (I think) to canning meat. It is mostly in chunks, plain, or in soups/stews.

For chunks, I cut any cut of meat into bite-size pieces (or larger in the case of turkey, which might later be sliced for sandwiches) and add water and process it. To use it, my absolute favorite is to reheat it in a pan with a jar of FarmerLor's cream of mushroom soup, and serve that over rice or noodles or whatever, or just as is with a couple of veggie sides, depending on how low-carb I'm eating that day.

I also will make it into soups or stews using any veggie that will hold up in a crock pot all day...it will also survive pressure canning. I like collards, carrots, rutabaga, turnip, mushrooms (especially dried), onions and garlic, etc. Kale works, but I don't care for the taste as much.

Grind some up, mix with beef, and make canned meatloaf. Yum! I got the recipe from www.canningusa.com. A half pint jar makes one generous sandwich.

Tougher meats that do well in the crock pot do well with pressure canning. That being said, I have canned lots of pork loin that I got on sale.

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score