Recipe to make clothes smell good?

Emsevers

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
I've been hanging my clothes outside, when it's not pouring down rain, and I was wondering if anyone had any ideas to make the clothes smell good. I know a lot of people like the smell of clothes hung outside but I love how they smell when they come out of the dryer. I know I could use liquid fabric softener but I was thinking more something that I would spray on them outside? I don't know if this is something people do.

sufficientforme

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I use this to "freshen up" an article of clothing, but not on a load by load basis for laundry. I use this also in my house.
Here is the recipe I have been using for about 5 years with no ill effects that I have found
Faux Febreeze
Ingredients
1 1/2-4 tablespoons ultra downy fabric softener ( I usually get whatever scent is on sale)
25 ounces water
32 ounces spray bottle, new and clean
Directions
Put Downy and water in bottle and spray on furniture, carpeting, pillows, shower curtains -- etc -- To do a fabric test, spray small amount in an area where it cannot be seen. I have used on whites also, but I would test first!
Good luck, I am sure you will get several good responses.

keljonma

Epicurean Goddess
Reaction score
Some people use scented water (rose, lavender, citrus) in the rinse cycle.

I use white vinegar in the rinse. There is no smell, except clean, fresh clothes on the lnie.

FarmerChick

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
Emsevers said:
I've been hanging my clothes outside, when it's not pouring down rain, and I was wondering if anyone had any ideas to make the clothes smell good. I know a lot of people like the smell of clothes hung outside but I love how they smell when they come out of the dryer. I know I could use liquid fabric softener but I was thinking more something that I would spray on them outside? I don't know if this is something people do.
Hey Em