Slaughtering meat chickens ???

Rebecka

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
So.. back in April we got 125 of the world cutest chicks. About 75 were intended to be kept for eggs and breeding. The rest were to meat chickens. Since , we have acquired a whole lot more. We now have a total of about 170 birds. I have been reading up on BYC and think I have a good handle on it. We have LOTs of roosters reaching sexual maturity. They are MEAN! not just a little.. but mean for the sake o being mean. So much so our egg production has dropped of considerably. So.. heres the plan. I am going to spend the day in the chicken yard. When someone is mean, they get separated off. Where my sweet husband will then take them out of sight of the chicken yard and deal with them. Anyone see any flaws in that plan ? This is my first time doing this and I would rather not muck it up.

Wildsky

Femivore
Reaction score
It might be easier to decide which ones you'd do better without and grab them when they're on th roost at night, keep them without food till the following day and then dispatch them.

Thats if you have a place you can keep them overnight.

Rebecka

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
They are pretty easy to handle. Most all of them are used to me picking them up. Umm.. keep them without food? That seems kind of mean. Is there a reason for it that I am missing?

me&thegals

A Major Squash & Pumpkin Lover
Reaction score
I'm just guessing here, but I don't think any living creature is hurt too much by going w/o food for a day. The reason is that they don't have any poop, which really messes up the butchering operation...

Your plan sounds good, but so does the other plan :) If you have a way of taking mental note of the meanies and then pulling them off the roost at night. Otherwise, during the day we find a nice long fishing net works well for us!

Shiloh Acres

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score