"taters!

rebecca100

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I just picked up a 20 lb bag of red taters for $4.99. We will never eat all of them before they go bad. Has anyone canned potatoes and how did they turn out? I am eager to try out my canner however my canning book has disappeared! Once canned what can they be used for? Roasts? I have never used canned taters before so I have no clue how they will turn out. I also have two dehydrators so maybe I can dehydrate some? Once again what can they be used for once dehydrated?

lwheelr

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Canned potatoes end up with a different texture than fresh. Best for soups and casseroles.

Dried potatoes can be done as hash brown type potatoes, slices, cubes, etc. Dry them for the end purpose. They will reconstitute and fry ok, but not quite the same as fresh. If you throw them in a pot of soup, by the time they reconstitute fully, you won't know the difference.

Smaller cubes, slices, etc, dry best.

Make sure you cook the potatoes to the right point (just until they go clearish) before you dry them. If you don't, then they'll age and get all black and yucky.

Personally, I LOVE dried potatoes as a convenience food. In fact, I love dried celery, dried carrots, onions, peas, broccoli, spinach, cabbage, red and green peppers, tomatoes, etc. You can make things so fast from them.

Just toss them in the pot with the meat and water, turn it on to simmer, and an hour and a half later you have soup with half the work. If you do it in a crock pot, and throw it all in sometime in the morning, you'll have dinner with only having to stir it once or twice. Great for busy days when you are THERE, but have no time to cook, or when you can spend 5 minutes throwing stuff into the pot, leave, then come back to a meal that is ready.

Between that and a bread machine, dinner almost makes itself, and it is what you want it to be, not what came from a can.