the self reliant homestead: chicken questions

Shella

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
hey. im a newbie to this self sufficiency stuff and i stumbled on this forum and i wanted some avice on how to perfect a self sufficient homestead. i know that economy is bad so i have a few questions. . . .

for a family of five how many laying hens would we need? we eat eggs pretty frequently, and i sumtimes cook with them. i have beed reading into it and id like a dual purpose breed, that will set eggs for me. any suggestions on breeds?

i have been gartening for a few years now. how big should a garden be if iwant to eat regulary from it durin the summer, spring, and fall and my family is of five. plus can or dry enough for winter.

thats what im planning on now, id like two other meat sources that economical to raise and maybe some dary goats in a year or two..

thanx

shella

k0xxx

Mr. Sunshine
Reaction score
Shella said:
hey. im a newbie to this self sufficiency stuff and i stumbled on this forum and i wanted some avice on how to perfect a self sufficient homestead. i know that economy is bad so i have a few questions. . . .

for a family of five how many laying hens would we need? we eat eggs pretty frequently, and i sumtimes cook with them. i have beed reading into it and id like a dual purpose breed, that will set eggs for me. any suggestions on breeds?

i have been gartening for a few years now. how big should a garden be if iwant to eat regulary from it durin the summer, spring, and fall and my family is of five. plus can or dry enough for winter.

thats what im planning on now, id like two other meat sources that economical to raise and maybe some dary goats in a year or two..

thanx

shella
:welcome