Turning a dog pen in to a quail pen/greenhouse

Wifezilla

Low-Carb Queen - RIP: 1963-2021
Reaction score
I am just getting started, but I wanted to show the steps in case anyone else has similar materials available.

The kennel was FREE. My neighbor let her house go in to foreclosure after she lost her job and told me to take it so the bank wouldn't.

Since I don't have a dog, I had to find another way to use it. Broody pen for the ducks was a potential candidate and I did put a duck pair in it before I sold them, but the quail need new digs and my plants are taking over the house...hence the quail pen/greenhouse idea.

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=52495&id=1398880757&l=c1f81f1997

Money spent so far...

Pen: Free
PVC conduit: 8 pieces @ 93 each = $7.44
Zip ties: 3 packs @ $1.74 each = $5.22
Deer netting for cover: $20
Plastic hardware cloth liner: ???? (It was leftover from a roll I bought last year. No idea how much I paid so I will add that in when I buy more).

Still need to get a plastic cover so it will work as a green house in early and late spring. I may just get a white tarp, but we will see what I find next time I go to the store.

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
That is a wonderful idea!! I see those dog pens for sale on cl all the time. They aren't cheap either. Great score!

It gives me some good ideas in getting my own greenhouse up and running, thanks!

:thumbsup

Wifezilla

Reaction score
I have been eyeballing all these neat green houses, and thinking about getting extra old windows or building hoop houses, etc....and how I couldn't afford them and how much materials would cost...

Well DUH! I already had what I needed. Just had to wait for inspiration to strike :p Don't you feel so stupid when an answer is right in front of your face for months and you are too slow to see it? :rolleyes:

sylvie

Recycled Spunk
Reaction score
The one pic has a hoop that is bent perfectly. That is gray PVC?
Def great score!