What speed to use on kitchenaid food strainer?

Emerald

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I can not find the instructions that came with the food strainer and this is my first time using ti for tomatoes.
Can anyone tell me the best speed to have the machine on? :hu it is a pro600 in case that is important.
Thanks for any help or helpful hints in advance..

Mickey328

Power Conserver
Reaction score
I generally set mine on a low to medium speed. I listen to it and if it seems to be working too hard, I "throttle it back" some. If it's going too slowly and doesn't seem to be straining, I crank it up a bit.

Although, I confess I quit using mine for tomatoes...the holes are so darned small you end up with hardly any pulp and lots of liquid. For juice that's great, but for canning tomatoes or sauce, not so much. We got a Roma Food Mill from Lehman's a couple months ago and ordered the salsa kit...the holes are much bigger and I like it a LOT! I strain after running the 'maters through, and use the stuff IN the strainer for sauce and the stuff that runs through for juice. Then, I run all the peels and such through the Champion juicer. By the time I'm done, there's not much left other than practically dry leavings.

We did 3 boxes of romas yesterday in this manner, and also juiced some beets, onions, celery, parsley, basil, carrots and zucchini to add to the juice for a vegetable cocktail sort of thing. Took DH and me about 4 hours to process it; it was awesome!

Emerald

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Thanks! that was what I was gonna do if I didn't find any info..
I have over a bushel to do today.. but I got up way late due to having had the 4 year old and 1 year old grand kids all weekend.. guess Gamma needed some sleep!
I have several older squeezo type strainers and just don't have the arm strengh to use them..
Another friend told me to run the squeezed stuff thru the strainer another time and you will get more out.