What type of chicken to process????

Up-the-Creek

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I am not new to processing chickens, but I am new to buying a "breed" made specific for it. We usually just butcher what was here, but DH and I would like to buy some just for butchering. We have dicussed the cornishX and many dual purpose breeds. I would like to hear some of your experiences with different breeds and what you all think the pros and cons are.

Top on our list so far is the White Rock,...leaning toward a dual purpose at this point for the "flavor".

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
Well, I have raised the cornishX, the red ranger type bird, and have processed regular extra cockerals

Definitely CX give you the biggest bird in the least amount of time. The rangers, I wished I had raised them separate, but I had them in with the CX, so i can't tell you if they ate less food or not. At the same age, they dressed out prob 2 lbs. smaller. I usually process my meaties at 8 weeks, CX usually 8ish lbs, RR usually 6ish lbs.

My extra roos dress out at about 4 lbs at 6 months. (They might be 4 lbs sooner, but we normally process them when they start crowing)

Does that help?

This spring, I will be ordering the red ranger type again, since I believe OFG has some who lay eggs, so that way I can reproduce my own.

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
UTC, I will be doing the rainbow rangers this year if at all possible, so can probably give you more insight later on how free ranged meaties process out.

For now, my WRs are quite impressive in size and lay consistently for two years now. An easy keeper bird also. If the rangers don't pan out, the next venture will be with just the WRs.

Up-the-Creek

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Thanks all for all the good feedback!
I was checking out the colored rangers,...thinking a maybe on them. What exactly are they crossed with??? Do they develop as quick as a cornishXrock??