Canning beans

KnittyGritty

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Does anyone have an accurate chart that tells you how many pounds of dry beans you need for how many pints of canned beans? I'm just canning pinto beans, and supposedly 4.5 lbs. of dry beans should yield 12 pints when full. But I'm getting 22! I'm supposed to fill the jars 2/3 full of soaked and heated beans, then add boiling water - maybe my idea of 2/3 is off? Is it 2/3 to the top, or 2/3 to the 1" down point? Does anyone else have this problem? Now I have to can a second batch, and I hadn't planned on that today. :(
As you can tell, I'm fairly new at this.........thanks!

Britesea

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
You could try the way I can beans. For a pint jar put in 1/2 cup of dry (not soaked) beans, 1/2 tsp salt (optional) and fill with boiling water, leaving a 1" headspace. Put the lids and rings on and process in a pressure canner for 75 minutes at the pressure that is appropriate for your location (15 lbs for me at 4500 feet). The beans will soften and cook during processing and they have always come out perfect for me. I especially like this method because if I am canning up some leftover soup or something, and I have some empty spaces, I can make just enough jars of beans to fill up the canner.

You can also add seasonings if you want. I make chili beans by adding to the dry beans and salt:
1 slice jalapeno, 1 garlic clove, about 1/4 cup each diced onion and red bell pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, a dash liquid smoke, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 Tbsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp cayenne, and 2 tbsp tomato sauce. Again fill to 1" with boiling water, stir to ensure there are no bubbles, and proceed with processing.

To make a quart of beans, just double everything and process for 90 minutes

KnittyGritty

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Britesea, can I do this for any bean, even garbanzo beans?

Britesea

Sustainability Master
Reaction score