All-natural cold sore remedy? *ick warning*

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
Now, I know this is going to sound really gross to most folks and it did to me when I first heard it...but, if you've ever suffered from a really big cold-sore that took forever to run its course, then you would understand why anyone would even try it! Painful and ugly!

I used to get them pretty badly in grade school and sometimes in my early twenties, but not since I found a "cure".

I had one on my usual place~right below my lip~ one day and an elderly lady noticed and asked me if I wanted to know something that would stop it before it started? Of course, being a nurse, I know that the only thing available for a cold sore is an anti-viral and, even then, they may or may not help.

She said.......are you ready? :p ........ when you first feel that tingle, or burning feeling, before the actual blisters appear, put some of your own ear wax on the spot! :sick

Well, the next time I felt one coming on~being the pioneer that I am~I tried it! :D

It worked. :th :weee

Thereafter, I used it to good effect each time. One day I didn't recognize the tingle, as it had been a long time between episodes. I looked in the mirror and found a blister forming on my lip and thought, "Darn it! Too late to use the ear wax thingy!" But, I tried it anyway. It worked!!!

After that, if I had left one too late and it actually developed into a sore, I used the ear wax anyway~and it would heal over in a couple of days!

Just a little tidbit of info to anyone who dares to try it and can get past the ick factor.... :D

PamsPride

Should be Sewing
Reaction score
Thankfully I have never had a cold sore and I would not even have enough ear wax for this anyways my ears stay pretty clear.

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
Me too, so the supply is pretty skimpy when I need it the most! But just a little tiny bit does the trick!

Cassandra

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score