Beer, Wine and Mead Makers Thread

chicken stalker

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Hey you beer, wine and mead makers , lets share our experiences and recipes.

So I am fairly new at this. I have made one large batch of Red Ale and a large batch or Kiwi Pear Wine. Both came out really tasty but both were from kits. Now I want to venture out and try making really homemade hooch. Sooo...

A couple questions for all you wine makers.

1. Any orange wines or mead recipes.....I've got about 30 oranges to play with and lots of cranberries hhmmm something cranorange??
2. Can I use a larger secondary (5 gal) for a 3 or 4 gal batch?

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
1. I have a new batch of orange/ginger mead bubbling away right now, used about 7-8 lbs of organic oranges and the zest. Looks and smells yummy. I simmered about a half pound of ginger with the zest for two hours, covered, juiced the rest of the oranges, used....um....10-12 lbs wildflower honey (raw) and enough sugar to get the sg up so the potential alcohol would be about 13-14%. Topped the whole thing with water and started it right in the carboy, leaving some space for bubbling up. I added more water after it calmed down in 2-3 days. Will rack at 3-4 weeks and again every 2-3 months until it clears, topping up with water.

2. No, you need to keep the secondary topped up, so that would be far too much air space at the top. Why bother with four gallons? It's not that much further to make it five, right? :D

chicken stalker

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Up-the-Creek said:
Right now I have a gallon of orange clove meade going,...smells quite nice... :D I just made a small batch it being my first time trying it,...meade that is. This is the link to where I got my recipe,....

http://www.stormthecastle.com/mead/mead-recipes.htm
Thant's the recipe I was checking out.