Can we talk about bread making?

savingdogs

Queen Filksinger
Reaction score
Okay, so I have been working on making my own bread and rolls. I've never really done this much but have been enjoying the results. I've been using an artisan bread recipe and altering it here and there, since it has been working out!

However, the price of yeast was not particularly low and I was wondering about making sourdough and whether I would purchase less yeast that way? How do you get started with sourdough? I remember making an Amish friendship bread once with some nasty stuff you save up each time, is that basicaly the trick? How can I start some of that?

And what about alternative flours? I would like to have some wheatless bread for my diet, although not all our bread needs to be that way. However, the price of those types of flours was :ep
No can do. Does yeast work the same way with other types of flour? I'm really a bread newbie here....I've really never been home long enough to have time for things like making bread!

I know that is several questions, but I guess I wanted to start an "all about making easy and cheap bread at home" type thread because that is a skill I'd like to hone.

I'd also like to learn to make biscuits such as the ones made by Barred Buff's Granny in a recent picture he posted! My "bisquick" biscuits are not cutting it.

Marianne

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I buy yeast in a 2 pound bag for around $5 in my little country market. Waaay cheaper that way. I keep it in a zipper bag in the freezer and just use what I need for whatever I'm baking.
You can save a ball of dough from one bread making batch to use as the yeast starter on your next batch of bread. Just make sure to plan on a much longer rising time. Then keep a ball of that bread dough for your next baking day. Just keep in the frig for a couple days, or in the freezer. Let it thaw in the frig before you use it.