canning supplies

Hiedi

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Please forgive my ignorance. I know my question is a very basic one. I am just getting started with home canning; my All American pressure canner arrived the other day. I was looking for canning supplies so I went to Walmart, but they did not sell the jars at that particular store. My next stop was at Ace Hardware. They had (Ball) regular mouth jars but no wide mouth size. While I was looking at their supplies at Ace, a lady came up to us and said the Dollar Store sold canning jars for a much cheaper price so we went to the Dollar Store. They sell the (Golden Harvest) mason jars (regular mouth) at a much cheaper price than the Ball jars at Ace Hardware. My question is: where do you all buy your canning supplies like jars, medal bands, lids, etc? Do you have a specific brand that you like to use? What are your thoughts on the Golden Harvest mason jars as opposed to the Ball brand? Thanks in advance. :)

justusnak

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I get my canning jars....wherever I can! LOL
Some from friends or family members....garage sales...auctions...and any store that sells them at a good price. I use a little of everything..and dont seem to find a difference. Altho, I do like the wide mouth MUCH better...just easier to clean....and easier to pack.

farmerlor

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I too get my jars anywhere I can. If someone has them at a garage sale I just take whatever they have and use them. If someone has them for free I'll gladly take whatever they want to give me. I'm not picky about my jars. Now if I had my druthers and the money to just buy whatever I wanted I'd get wide mouth jars only and I do tend to have more wide mouth jars because my husband bought me some a few times. I get my lids and flats wherever I can find them cheapest. I've heard there are some places where you can lids in bulk-gotta find some of those places soon.

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score