Do you have a business plan for what you do?

DianeS

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I've been thinking recently that my approach to living more self-sufficiently is rather slapdash. I hear about something, and if I think it sounds useful and good, I research it. If it looks plausible, I try it. And hopefully it works out well and brings me closer to being self sufficient.

In my former cubicle-bound life, I was a business analyst. Yet I haven't applied anything I did there to my self sufficiency! What an oversight! I think maybe I had to detox from all the cubicle-ness first. I may now be ready to go back and start from the beginning with a business plan. Identifying my goals, breaking them down into short-term and long-term, with dates. Then figure out what method of measurement I want to use, and figure out where I am today according to that. Then do my steps to figure out how to get from where I am to where I want to be. And apply the same measurement again to see if I got there.

So - do any of you use a business plan in your farms or gardens or homesteading? Did you ever write down your goals? What measurement do you use to see if you've gotten there - is it money saved, cans of produce in the pantry, hours you don't have to work at an outside job?

I'd love to hear your plans! I could use the inspiration as I figure out how to do mine.

Wannabefree

Little Miss Sunshine
Reaction score
I spend as much time writing down goals and plans as I do doing :lol: I tend to analyze and redo my plan a dozen times before I'm happy with it. It's an old habit for me, I always have to have a notebook handy :hu

DianeS

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
So do you have a single "master plan", or a bunch of smaller plans that you implement at different times?

Marianne

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
No real plan here. But I'm also married to a guy that isn't in to all this like I am, so sometimes it's finding the middle ground. :/