dun chicks self sufficient living journal

dun chick

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
I haven't started a journal in years, let alone online so please bear with me. I am trying to become as self sufficient as possible but certain things we must all have but anyways here iam.
I did not answer the monster questions but to tell you about myself. I am 48 year old happily married woman of almost 25 years. I have 3 daughters, one is autistic and I am a nurse at the local hospital. I started raising chickens about 2 years ago and have pure jersey giants, marans and ameracaunas. i would like to semi retire this year, dd needs me home more and would love to spend more time with my horses and chickens and just enjoying simple life.

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
:welcome
dun chick said:
I haven't started a journal in years, let alone online so please bear with me. I am trying to become as self sufficient as possible but certain things we must all have but anyways here iI'm starting to like this idea! I wanted to have an introductions section on BYC, but didn't know how to keep it different from the other areas. Having it be introductions / journals really seems like a good / fun idea.

I did not answer the monster questions but to tell you about myself. I am 48 year old happily married woman of almost 25 years. I have 3 daughters, one is autistic and I am a nurse at the local hospital. I started raising chickens about 2 years ago and have pure jersey giants, marans and ameracaunas. i would like to semi retire this year, dd needs me home more and would love to spend more time with my horses and chickens and just enjoying simple life.
Out of the 3 forums, (byc,teg,and ss...can't log into byh but enjoy reading everything) I find the answers to most of all my questions here. Everyone is laid back and happy and willing to help you out in any way. I love it here.

I too have horses and chickens and a daughter. Anyway, WELCOME!!!!

-Sally