Goat milk soap

Kwynn

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
I'm looking for a recipe for goat milk soap. Something natural and something easy. Not a whole lot though, i'm not interested in selling, I don't have that much milk yet!

roosmom

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Hi, I would try looking online. I have no experience in that at all. Sorry. But there is so much info out there online you should be able to what you are looking for.

hoosier

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I think there is thread on BYC right now about soapmaking using milk.

Quail_Antwerp

Cold is on the Right, Hot is on The Left
Reaction score
Yea, I am looking for information on this now myself. I would ask FarmerChick, I think she makes soaps out of goats milk?

FarmerChick, my goat is a Boer Nubian cross, I am assuming I can still milk her (her udder is HUGE and LOADED) and use that milk as I would if she was pure Nubian, right? (Ok well it is questionable whether she is pure or not, she was sold to us as a pure nubian, but I have had people tell us they think she's boer cross with nubian).

Really, I don't care what her genetics are as long as I can milk her!

I am wanting to make soap, cheese, and butter. Figure I will start with the soap, see how that goes...stock up my bathroom closet with soap so I won't have to buy any ever again ROTFL

FarmerChick

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
Quail--doesn't matter what breed your goat is....all goat milk is usable.

Just make sure when you milk her, that you leave plenty for the baby goat to drink...LOL...my Boer's have small udders, so I only take so much milk and leave the babies nursing.

BUT yes you can make cheese, yogurt, etc. etc. from any milk. The difference comes in that some dairy breeds, like pure Nubians, Toggenbergs, etc. are higher fat content in their milk, etc. which just makes for taste and difference in products.

Go for it.