Hello from southern ON, Canada!

Melody102

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I found this site through backyard chickens and wanted to introduce myself. I grew up in a town known for farming in Southern Ontario, then I moved to the big city for university and found myself raising quails on my apartment balcony! Thanks to a supportive fiancé I was also quickly crowding our living room with plants and our kitchen cupboards with my new love for fermented foods… well suddenly an opportunity opened up and we are now renting a 5acre farm back in the hometown I grew up in!

Now I’m trying to navigate living on a farm, sewing clothes, cooking, foraging, raising my quail, learning how to prune fruit trees and what the heck to do with all these pears 😆 while also balancing a Masters degree in education and working as a freelance behaviour therapist.

Let’s just say I’m a newbie with very full hands and loving every minute of it 💕 very glad to meet you all and look forward to learning from you.
Here’s a cute photo of some of my quail enjoying a nice splash pool on a hot summer’s day
3DEEBC5E-E200-4F86-AA68-B9F9042426E6.jpeg

flowerbug

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
hello and welcome to SS from mid-Michigan. i have no animals other than my worm buckets, but i always enjoy reading about the antics and whatever they are getting up to from people who do keep them. :)

Melody102

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Hi @Melody102 ! Your interests sound similar to mine! I'm in northern WI. My extended family owns a bit of land near Kenora, so ON is a special place for me. 💗
Very cool! Kenora is lovely so I can understand that. I keep seeing your name on a lot of the threads I’ve been reading, you post a lot and on so many cool topics I’m interested in!

Melody102

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score