Home made yogurt...

RTRChick

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
ok... I was once on BYC and saw a thread on homemade yogurt, sounded like a good idea, but I never tried it....

Until I got my awesome yogurt maker!

I am now a firm believer that everyone should try this! I bet a lot of you already do, but I hadn't seen it and thought i'd bring it up

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
Good morning! I have been making yogurt for at least 15 years. I love i, kids love it, hubby loves it. I'm having my morning coffee now, but soon I will be having my fruit smoothie, with frozen fruit, yogurt and honey.

Farmer Kitty

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
You don't need yogurt maker. Miss P's directions don't include one and it turns out very yummy!

Zenbirder

Frugal Vegetarian Farmer
Reaction score
Yum Yogurt!
I use a small ice chest to incubate the yogurt, and mine is made from homemade soy milk. No cow to feed, just a pail of beans in the pantry!

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
For simplicity's sake, I have always used a yogurt maker. Also, I very rarely buy new culture. I have gone years using a tablespoon from my previous batch-to make a new batch. My opinion is my yogurt maker takes up less room, I rarely lose a batch, and I don' need o buy new culture. So I'll stick with my yogurt maker.

farm_mom

Power Conserver
Reaction score
My kids LOVE yogurt. I usually stir in a bit of our homemade fruit jams/jellies/butters. Just in case anyone wanders here who doesn't already make their own, I thought I'd add a couple of links. Here's how to make yogurt with the jar/cooler method:

http://childreninthecorn.blogspot.com/2008/02/making-yogurt-part-i.html

And here's a link to using the machine, making yogurt cheese, and one of my favorite things to do with it!

http://childreninthecorn.blogspot.com/2008/02/making-yogurt-part-ii.html

me&thegals

A Major Squash & Pumpkin Lover
Reaction score