RTRChick

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
so bow season starts tomorrow in alabama and DH decided since he was on his dads property he'd get a head start by just sitting in a tree this evening with a crossbow..

well he hit one with the cross bow and now he cant find it. I think he deserves it for hunting before he was supposed to, but I hate to think its suffering and now no one will get to enjoy it since he cant find it.. to bad too since i was looking forward to fixing him a nice recipe id found involving venison..

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
Yep, I think you pegged it right....bad karma! :D
My boys bowhunt( but not with crossbows) so I am looking forward to some tenderloin myself! :p

RTRChick

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
ooo its not tenderloin.. its cubesteak.

Anyways I found it on BYC's recipe section, I'm a terrible cook and always looking for realllllly simple easy to follow recipes.

Here's the link to the original recipe (and it has pictures!)

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/recipe-file/

PossumPoint:
"I use cubed deer steaks and they are awesome. I also saute mushrooms and add provolone cheese to ours."

Had to give her the credit, even if it is on a different board.

It worked out good with beef, so I figure venison will be great for him.. oh well :rolleyes:

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
After years of putting up deer we just keep it simple nowdays. We save the tenderloin for butterfly steaks and make the rest into hamburger. Myself, I would like to can some but the kids don't like it that way......this year I'm going to do it anyway..just for me! :cool:

Making it into hamburger makes it more versatile for us and our lifestyle....it tastes just like the steak, just comes in a different form! :D

RTRChick

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score