keeping a mixed flock

the funny farm6

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
ok, need advice from the experts here. what can/cant be kept together? i got my first turkeys and have been told NOT to keep them with other poultry. i have heard about the blackhead disease reason for the turkeys, but i have also heard of people keeping mixed flocks with turkeys. i have also been told i am doing a no-no by keeping chickens, ducks, and guineas in the same coop. nobody is getting beat up and nobody has been sick. anyone got advice, or experience?

BarredBuff

El Presidente de Pollo
Reaction score
Okay, I am no expert but here are my experiences. I acquired 15 turkey poults from two sources both the same breed (Bourbon Reds) and all of them either died or dissappeared all at different ages and sexes. I lost several in the brooder, and when they went out on range some did great for a while and were looking great then mysteriously died and the other dissappeared. So I am not advocating turkeys because my experience with them has been that they are not hardy at all. I fed them correctly and they had good housing. I know from WBF's experiences that hers wouldn't die if a nuke was dropped. But that wasn't my experience.

As far as Chickens, Ducks and Guineas together. That should work fine, I don't have any problems with my Muscovies and Chickens being together. The Drake can be a jerk sometimes but 90 percent of the time he is fine. I keep my geese, ducks, and chickens together right now and everyone is great. But when breeding season arrives the geese will be relocated for the other's safety. I am pretty satisfied with my flock now, and I free range completely so that helps.

the funny farm6

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
they didnt give me a reason that the chickens, ducks, and guineas couldnt be together. but most people i know keep at least guineas and chickens together.

its not like they are going to interbreed. but can you picture a guinea/duck. ewww.