Laundry soap---Question about results

StonehavenFarm83

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I have been making the homemade laundry soap for a couple of months now. LOVE IT!
However, my husband wanted me to post and ask a question about results.
Seems his work uniforms start emitting a dried urine type smell when he starts sweating. :p
He said it's embarassing. This didn't happen until I started using the homemade laundry soap.
I use the washing soda, borax and ivory mixture. Does anyone else have results like this?
I love this soap recipe and am having great results with the rest of our laundry. Just this one area is causing problems. Any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I am thinking I may have to switch back to store soap for his uniforms.
Thanks!!
Jo

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Are you adding anything to the rince cycle? I am not at this point yet due to the old gabillion gallon sized detergent we bought at cosco before I learned how to make my own...but I read that you can use white vinegar in the rince cycle. :hu

BeccaOH

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Try the white vinegar in the rinse cycle. I use it and no fabric sheets in the dryer.

I use the same recipe with the Fels Naptha (sp?) soap. I also add a few drops of essential citrus oil. I don't think my clothes stink, but. . . :hu

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
I have this problem, too, but only with our clothes, not with sheets, towels, etc. And not with my bleachable whites, either. So I am guessing it is a bacteria problem. Others don't have this issue, so I am also guessing that it has to do with my water source, which is municiple. So bacteria is an issue. I do use white vinegar in the rinse cycle for every load.

I will use either commercial laundry soap for the dark clothes, or my own soap with some disinfectant in the wash. Sometimes I can then go a couple of weeks without doing that, and it is ok.