Learning to sew without patterns

Homemaker

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Does anyone here sew without using patterns? I know that might sound strange but, I find sewing patterns confusing and intimidating. And I hate to spend $ on anything really. I think if I were to approach it myself I might be more apt to actually start a project. I've made a few simple things already, pincushions, bags, soft baby toys, and pillows. But, never anything as complicated as a piece of clothing. Which is what I would really love to make. I wouldn't be making clothing to sell. Just things for my family. I started a dress for my little Dd. It is a pillowcase dress so it is simple to begin with. Which is perfect for me since I'm a beginner anyhow. I don't know, does this sound crazy? Be honest I can take it. :)

abifae

Abinormal Butterfly
Reaction score
Not odd at all. Making my own patterns is MUCH easier than paper bought ones. Only, I'm still learning to FIT lol.

I'm taking classes online this autumn to learn to do it correctly. So far, I'm still at the simple stage :)

Homemaker

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I was hoping to hear from you abifae! I'm glad to hear that. I know you are an experienced seamstress so, that is very encouraging.

abifae

Abinormal Butterfly
Reaction score
"experienced seamstress"... wouldn't go THAT far, but I'm learnin' ;)

http://deofsf.com/blog/ He has a blog and a yahoo group for learning to make patterns. He also has a book and online classes.

A lot of people on the sewing pattern group have their own blogs and classes as well. Everything from complete sewing noobs to professional tailors in the group.

And I think T Tunics are a good place to start lol.

Threadbanger is very DIY. Some is reconstruction, some is make a pattern.

BirdBrain

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score