natural deodorant crystal

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
I completely forgot to mention this one! I have been using a natural deodorant crystal for over two years now. Its ingredients are natural mineral salts, and amonium alum. It is a crystal that you either wet and apply, or apply to wet pits. ( I choose the latter, b/c when you wet it, extra water drips down your sides) It is relatively inexpensive and lasts forever (ok--not forever--but a really long time.)

Just thought I would pass along this info to anyone who might be interested. It works well, too!

me&thegals

A Major Squash & Pumpkin Lover
Reaction score
Hey! I have one of those! Passed on to my from my husband, passed on to him by his friend. Ugghh--I guess that sounds gross now that I type it. The trick is to make sure either the stick or pit is wet enough. A little too dry and the sensation is the sensory version of nails on a chalkboard.

patandchickens

Crazy Cat Lady
Reaction score
Where do you buy them?

Also, when you say works well, do you mean 'for someone who perspires in a ladylike way' or would it still be likely to work well for someone sadly more inclined towards the plowhorse-sweat end of the spectrum :p?

Pat, having seen reference to those things and maybe even ads somewhere but not wanting to shell out for them without personal recommendations

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
patandchickens said:
Where do you buy them?

Also, when you say works well, do you mean 'for someone who perspires in a ladylike way' or would it still be likely to work well for someone sadly more inclined towards the plowhorse-sweat end of the spectrum :p?

Pat, having seen reference to those things and maybe even ads somewhere but not wanting to shell out for them without personal recommendations
Well, I am not a heavy sweat-er, but my mom is and has a not so wonderful aroma attched to the faucets, lol, uses it and collectively--we have found that it works wonderfully.