New Here.... Need Advice

moneysavingmomma

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Ok this is my first time to post here but have looked through several post before joining. I am in desperate need to cut back on my families spending so we can start saving some money and build a emergency fund. I am starting a envelope system to budget out our cash on a weekly bases (thanks to reading a previous post here). We don't use banks ( I just don't trust them) and deal in cash only. Here is my main problems, we are a family of 3 living on one income. I use coupons and save a lot on grocerys that way. I need ideas to help me spend our money wisely and start making more things at home and buy things cheaper than we are now. Homemade soaps, cleaners, ect. would be nice.I also need a way to eat a little cheaper. Right now I spend about $75 a week on groceries and come out with little to nothing. I want to change our eating habits as well since now we eat a lot of prepackaged goods full of MSG among other things. The main problem here is I don't have a whole lot of time to cook, our other problem is we live in a city and don't have a lot of room for a garden and we can't have farm animals at all. We rent our house from my aunt so we don't pay much in rent (sorta family discount type thing). I have tried replacing bulbs ect. to cut utility cost but it doesn't seem to be helping much. I just don't know where to start. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!!:D

Wannabefree

Little Miss Sunshine
Reaction score
You have to start cooking from scratch at least some to help out on the grocery bill. Most things I cook from scratch...take LESS time than the prepackaged junk anyway ;) The key is to put things up and portion out big packages of meats. Pre cook some items before freezing them, etc. etc. I cook for 3 also :) Scan this site in the kitchen section for recipes that are simple. Oh, and every once in a while "cook" up a good ole salad :p THAT is easily grown in a few flower pots anyway.