Occamstazer~Work hairdos and a blog you've got to read!

Occamstazer

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Ok, I'm jumping on the bandwagon, I want to do the ss journal, too
:D
A little background on me:
I'm female, 23, and live in Tuscaloosa, Alabama with my significant other of 3+ years. We have four dogs, a load of chickens, and 3 guineas. I'm in my last semester of undergrad, hopefully soon will have a degree in biology! We sort of live in the boonies, which I love. Link goes to a pic of our house, if you're interested.
http://occamstazer.blogspot.com/2008/08/new-house.html

When I was a kid, my dad and I lived in the middle of nowhere, Nevada, and spent every free second hiking. I'd like to get back towards this lifestyle, and I don't doubt the dogs would appreciate it too. My dad was a bit of a health nut, we were veggies, fish, and nuts peeps. I do recall being shocked when I came to college and saw friends casually eating burgers and fries (I wondered if perhaps it was a special occasion :p)

After learning more about insulin, blood sugar, and my own personal quirks, I think I'm probably someone who is very sensitive to sugar. If I ate a candy bar, I'd literally fall asleep in 15 minutes, then wake up and eat everything in the house. So, my intent here is to keep a food journal, even if no one ever reads it, because a bit of accountability will do me good. I'll probably also include random animal-keeping tidbits. I welcome any and all advice and critiques!

TanksHill

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
Welcome. We have some dome houses like your around my area. I think they are pretty popular up in our local So. Cal mountains as well. Maybe because of the snow and the roof lines.

Congrats on your degree. I look forward to hearing more about your adventures.

gina

meriruka

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
The house pic is cool! Is the design decorative or does it have a purpose? (energy efficient, etc.)

Wifezilla

Low-Carb Queen - RIP: 1963-2021