Savingdogs-Saving the chickens

savingdogs

Queen Filksinger
Reaction score
LYourLinkGoesHere Well I've been a lurker on the SS, BYC and BYH sites for awhile and have finally decided to put a little more down here about myself. For some reason my pictures never seem to upload so I'll have to try to be descriptive because I'm not computer-savvy enough to know what I'm doing wrong (weird because I've been using computers for some 25 plus years).

Married mom of three, 50 years old, daughter 27 who just produced grandchild number one, and a son turning 18 and another one turning 13 going on 30...he is known in a couple of threads here simply as Trouble. The other two turned out good so God thought he oughta send me a stinker that someone needed to raise, God love him. We also have six dogs, three cats and I'll get into my barnyard in a few.

I'm new to the self-sufficient bug. Hubby has always been about 10 percent "survivalist" and I've always rolled my eyes at him. However a year and a half ago, we lost our nice home in the city (medical bills, too much debt consolidation and then lotsa pay cuts) and "downsized" to a mobile home in the country on five acres. We've always wanted five acres but we were married 26 years before we got them! I do miss my nice city house, but we love living in the forest. Our place is very very remote, forested mountaintop. We do have neighbors but alot of unowned or unpopulated state land surrounds us. We are close to Mt. Saint Helen's (yes, the volcano). We are not expecting any lava here soon in our location though, don't lose any sleep. We have a woodstove lit by wood we chop, our own well, and septic of course. We would LOVE to be off-grid because we hate the electric company here, they want to put power lines across our land and we are pretty PO'd. To be off grid would make it possible to say we don't want to do business with you.