Sherrynboo's journal

Sherrynboo

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I guess it is time to let ya'll know more about myself. I have never done a journal of any type so please bear with me here!

I live in west central GA on the border of Alabama, just north of Columbus. We have a 4 acre spread which we bought as raw land about 25 years ago. I didn't start with the intention of homesteading or simple living but it has been a process of evolution. Looking back, I can see how the Lord has directed my steps to where we are now.

I have a husband, a grown daughter, 5 grandchildren and too many animals. My menagerie includes 2 St. Bernards, 1 Siberian husky, 2 indoor cats, 3 monkeys, 2 parrots, 2 cockatiels, 18 chickens and 2 goats.

I work part time outside the home doing residential cleaning. My husband and I started this business about 15 years ago and that is all we do besides the small farming.

I have been making soap for about 6 years but have never ventured beyond bar soap. Once I got the goats I started doing the goat milk soap. That was a disaster in the making to start with but I finally made it work!

Thank you for letting me be a member on this board. It seems like a really warm, friendly place!

Sherry in GA

punkin

Don't Quote Me
Reaction score
Hey, Sherrynboo!! Glad to get to know you a little better. :frow

I would like to start making soap, but I don't know if I want to take that plunge yet. Seems like an expensive start up. I've been known to go overboard with a new endeavor and not follow through. Maybe I should stay away from that for now.

And I just have to ask: "How did you come by owning monkeys?"

2dream

Flibbertigibbet
Reaction score
Welcome aboard Sherrynboo - Since punkin as the how I will ask the what kind of monkeys and what kind of parrots?

I wish I had time to make soap. But then I also wish I had goats. LOL I think you call that wishing your life away.

Sherrynboo

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score