Square Foot Gardening.....Does Anyone Else Do This?

offgridgirl

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
I am fairly new to gardening. I started my first garden 3 years ago. After researching I decided to try a square foot garden. The main reason was for simplicity. I didn't want a complicated garden or I might have given up. So here I am 3 years later and I have expanded my square foot garden.

The concept behind a square foot garden is to plant everything in 1 square foot sections, at least most vegetables,(using grids) in a raised garden bed using a special soil mix to prevent weeds. It is small concept gardening.

I have 2 gardens. One is 4x11 feet and the other 4x14 feet. I have a total of 99 squares to plant my goodies.
My garden as of last week:)
I finally got my tomatoes and peppers planted with the tomato cages in place:)

5-20-11tomatocagesup.jpg

I have planted peas, onions, cucumbers, pole beans, bush beans, zucchini, yellow squash, peppers, and tomatoes.

Next I will work on the netting for my cucumbers and beans and also a fence around the garden

Please share any of your gardening experiences and tips

GardenWeasel

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Loved square foot gardening in the city. Actually gave my copy to my son when I moved and now have 3 acres. I still do a square foot raised bed for carrots radishes and beets. Do need to amend the soil more frequently as it is harder on the nutrients. My son is a solid convert. Your look beautiful!

keljonma

Epicurean Goddess
Reaction score
Great pic of your sqft garden!

Our very first year, we converted ds's 4x4x2 sandbox into strawberry beds. :D We have used the sqfts for years; with and without gridding.

One of our friends has started a small community sqft garden for the children who attend after-school and summer programs through our local program called Spiderweb. The kids had so much garden abundance, that some of their harvest helped with our church's twice monthly free community meals.