Story about new Organic Farming laws

SKR8PN

Late For Supper
Reaction score
Our government and especially THIS administration needs to be reigned in and brought back under OUR control. I think a severe "thinning of the herd" is in order............
Perhaps THAT would get their attention and make them realize that it is OUR money they are screwing with and OUR lives they are screwing up.

:somad :somad :somad :somad :somad

me&thegals

A Major Squash & Pumpkin Lover
Reaction score
As an organic CSA farmer, I'm not sure what organic versus conventional has to do with this article, unless you're talking about conventional trying to drive out smaller organics with difficult regulations.

As for this quote, it simply makes no sense: "But when food comes from our neighbors or from farmers who we know, we don't need all of those rules." Huh? I guess animal can crap on my food as easily as they can crap on produce in Mexico.

Yes, going local helps a person build relationships with the people who grow their food. It's my favorite part of being a CSA farmer, but it seems to be in the news quite a bit that food in America is contaminated too often. I guess you could look at it as government trying to control things, but in my eyes tracking allows health officials to pinpoint and stop the spread of foodborne illnesses, epidemiology 101.

I am definitely concerned about more regulation. It COULD drive out the little guys. On the other hand, I don't see it as a conspiracy when unclean food actually kills people.

The article has some good points in the beginning but then goes downhill from there. I mean...."The government is terrified of the tax loss. Imagine all the tax dollars lost if people actually grew their own vegetables!" What?? Since when is food taxed? Never has been here in WI during my lifetime.