Tapping trees for Syrup

CrealCritter

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
For several years I've been wanting to try my hand at making syrup. On my property i have maple, birch, walnut and sycamore trees. I also have access to the Shawnee natural forest since my property backs up to the Shawnee national forest.

I know its not sap season yet but it will be coming late winter early spring and I would like to get prepared over the winter so I'm ready to go when the sap starts rising.

Book learning is OK but do we have any syrup makers on SS? I sure would like to start a conversation and learn. I have zero experience but that's never stopped me before.

IMG_20190920_195626.jpg

Last edited:

baymule

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
I don’t make syrup, but I believe you can make syrup from all those trees. You can also make syrup from hickory.

Lazy Gardener

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
No experience here, but from all descriptions, it does not look difficult to tap a tree. The difficulty lies in collecting and boiling down the sap. I wouldn't recommend that you do the whole process in the house! Too much moisture involved! But, many back yard operations start the boil down in the yard, and finish it off in the kitchen.

Depending on the variations in spring weather patterns, sap season can be very short, or even sporadic. Beginning of season produces the best sap.

wyoDreamer

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I highly recommend that you DO NOT boil the sap down in the house. A friend did that and found that the steam creates a very sticky ceiling. He had to scrub the ceiling, then seal it with Kilz and then paint it.

I was told that the key to a good maple syrup is to warm it slowly and don't add cold sap to anything you are already boiling.

I will ask my maple syrup guy for any advise for someone starting out. I have it made, he gets the excess eggs, I get maple syrup. Right now, I have 8 pints in the cupboard to last until next March.