The type of peanut butter that separates & must be mixed...

Fairacre

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
You know the type, sold in jars containing just peanuts and a bit of salt. The oil always separates and rises to the top, and must be mixed back into the ground peanuts before using. I've been eating this type of peanut butter for 35 years now, starting back in the day when you could only find it in "health food stores". Each time I open a new jar I have used a butter knife to laboriously stir in the oil, trying to get it evenly distributed to the bottom of the jar.

Now after all these years I've finally thought of an easier way to accomplish this task. I may be the last person on the planet to have thought of this, but in case there are a few other folks who could benefit from this tip, I offer it here:

Empty the entire jar into a mixing bowl and stir it together with a hand-held electric mixer!

It does the job thoroughly & quickly, and very neatly. No more oil spilling over the rim of the jar, no more stiff remnants of unmixed ground peanuts lurking at the bottom. It also makes the peanut butter nice and soft with a lofty texture. After mixing it can be put back in the original jar. You can use a piece of bread to wipe out any remnants left in the bowl and enjoy it as a snack.

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
Something that also helps....when we buy jars of it, usually several at a time, we store them upside down until ready to use.

I prefer the kind that you grind yourself at the store. It can sit for weeks and weeks in the fridge without separating. I wonder why the stuff in the jar separates...is it months and months old? We live too far from that store to get the fresh stuff very often.

Fairacre

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score