Thinking of moving- looking at southwest US-need input.

NurseNettie

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
We live in Northern Maine, bought our home 2 years ago. Have always lived in New England (we're in our 40's) and are considering a move to somewhere in the southwest- warm, desert type, or near this environment.
Would like to find an area that's a nice combination of out of the way- a house with a few acres, not crowded, grow food, raise animals, but close enough to populated areas to get jobs easier.
I'm a nurse, ( an LPN), hubby works in the construction and labor industry.
I'd love to hear the pros and cons of where you live, or have lived.
I know that energy costs are going to balance out somewhat- ie, what we pay to heat, we'll pay to cool, so that's not a real consideration for us, it's expected.
What else can you tell me ?

A

dacjohns

Our Frustrated Curmudgeon
Reaction score
In general but you can find exceptions.

Great weather, shortage of water.

Higher elevations: more water, longer winters, milder summers.

Lots of sunshine: solar.

Wifezilla

Low-Carb Queen - RIP: 1963-2021
Reaction score
I live in El Paso County just outside of Colorado Springs, CO. We like the area. We DON'T have enough land though. There are place with nice sized properties nearby.

Good areas to look include 80911, Falcon, Black Forest. It kinds of depends how far you want to be from stores, etc. We have mountains, plains and dessert all within driving distance. Look up Paint Mines Park, Garden of the Gods, and the Pikes Peak Highway.

Good combo of rural and suburban with a city nearby.

Just avoid the city of fountain. They are tax and regulation happy.

Our winters are kind of mild, but Spring blizzards are common and rather annoying.