Too Hot??

AL

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I have my garden plot tilled and now I am wondering is it just too hot for tender young plants? I want to plant southern peas, okra, corn, pumpkins and MAYBE try tomatoes again (didn't have much luck with those 1st go 'round). I am in zone 8b and my "what to plant now" from mother earth news names these things. It just seems awfully hot

Jaxom

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I'm no expert, just going by past experiences, but some plants actually love it hotter. The key is how much water they get while it's hot. Unless you're under a watering ban, I'd give it another try. Would help to ask local nurseries which strains can tollerate heat better then others.

Wifezilla

Low-Carb Queen - RIP: 1963-2021
Reaction score
Tomatoes like the heat. Peas, not so much.

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Okra for sure. You will have okra coming out of your wazoo in no time. Ever have crunchy/dehydrated, seasoned okra? YUM! Fried okra and pickled okra are good too.

Also, peppers and cilantro love the heat. You could make a nice salsa garden like I used to do when I lived in Houston.

Just keep on top of the watering when you are in between hurricanes and tropical storms.

AL

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Thanks everyone

So I guess I will go ahead and finish prepping the lot - including getting some soaker hoses and straw bales. I really would like to "graduate" to gardening for food provision, but right now I think my family would starve :rolleyes:

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Don't feel bad. I hate the heat and rarely "gardened" in Houston in the summer. My summer salsa and herb gardens had to tough it out, surviving only on watering; no weeding or anything else that required more than about 3 minutes a day right before dark.

Look at it this way, you will have a nice bed etc ready for the fall season... I gardened more in the spring, winter and fall than I did all summer back in TX.

AL