What a fabulous forum!

hwillm1977

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I seem to be the first person from this province who posted, hoping there are others :)

I live in a small village? called Pollett River in Southeastern New Brunswick, Canada. I have a great boyfriend, who at this point qualifies as a husband, we just never bothered with the piece of paper :) We have two great dogs, both pit bulls, one cat, and one horse along with a revolving door of foster animals (usually pit bulls that need rehabilitation).

I work as a designer for a newspaper, my husband is a truck driver... I do tons of volunteer stuff, mostly with animals, and work part-time as a portrait artist from home to make a few extra dollars. I also sew, so I make a lot of my own clothes and do alterations for anyone that needs it.

We've always been interested in self sufficiency and have been slowly working our way towards that. Because of student loans, we can't get a mortgage... so we bought a trailer in a park, fixed that up and sold it... and now live in a fixer-upper farmhouse in the country on an acre of land... it cost us only $25,000 and needs a ton of work... but it's OURS :) We also have a 5 acre woodlot that we use to heat our house. Next we're saving up to buy acreage a little closer to a city than we are now (we're about 50 miles from a decent grocery store, or any store besides the gas station, now) So we're gradually working our way up the property ladder without accumulating more debt.

This spring we're planning on getting a few chickens since that's really all we can have on our lot, along with our garden... we know NOTHING about keeping farm animals (other than the horse) so we're on a giant learning curve and hoping that I don't mess too much stuff up.

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
Welcome from another canuck! I've been through NB before--stayed at Kouchibougouac Natl park, but that's all I know about NB.