Bulk Food Supplies?

DellaMyDarling

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Do you have a bulk supplier you order staples such as flour and dry beans from?

I can't seem to find one!

I do not appear to have any grain mills in my region.

In our mission to be more self sufficient, we now make our own bread. I'm a terrible cook but trying hard to learn scratch cooking. We manage to go through a minimum of 5lbs of flour per week. Bulk would be a nicer buy! Working on building the upstairs pantry (suggestions for easy access flour, sugar, etc storage would be great) but I can also purchase 5gal buckets and sealing lids to store excess bulk in basement. That appears to be the easy part, finding the goods doesn't seem to be.

frustratedearthmother

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
Our local Wal-Mart has bulk size on a few staples like rice, flour and beans. Might have to check out some online sources for other things.

baymule

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
I ordered whole grains here, whole grains store well.

https://www.montanaflour.com/

I went to the local donut shop for food grade buckets with lids, got 'em for $2. I made long bags with my food saver, filled them up and vacuum sealed them. It is easier to fill the bags IN the bucket, BTW. LOL

I have a Family Grain Mill with a motor (electric grind) and a hand crank option (for if there is no electricity)

https://pleasanthillgrain.com/shop-by/brand/family_grain_mill/

wyoDreamer

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
Just a word of advice - It is better to store the grain and grind it as you need it; rather than storing flour. Once ground, the flour will go rancid over time. If sealed properly, grain will last over 25 years. We store in 5 gallon buckets but actually sealed the grain into mylar bags with oxygen absorbers that will basically vacuum seal it. Once opened, we change the bucket lid out for a gamma lid - to give us easy access to the contents.

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score