Bulk Food Supplies?

DellaMyDarling

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Do you have a bulk supplier you order staples such as flour and dry beans from?

I can't seem to find one!

I do not appear to have any grain mills in my region.

In our mission to be more self sufficient, we now make our own bread. I'm a terrible cook but trying hard to learn scratch cooking. We manage to go through a minimum of 5lbs of flour per week. Bulk would be a nicer buy! Working on building the upstairs pantry (suggestions for easy access flour, sugar, etc storage would be great) but I can also purchase 5gal buckets and sealing lids to store excess bulk in basement. That appears to be the easy part, finding the goods doesn't seem to be.

CrealCritter

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
Wood working group in NC had a trailer setup, it was a complete wood working shop on wheels. They did a lot of charity and educational events and took donations of $$$$$ and equipment as a 501c, they did really well at it also.

They even paid me to give a presentation and live demonstration on how to saw logs into lumber. I also won several contests but I always donated back to the organization because I believed in its teaching, instructional and education mission.

What really touched my heart is when I volunteered to go and teach some disabled vets basic wood working skills. It was a very moving moment for me and I was hooked from that day forward, I still have some contact with a few of the guys even though I moved to southern IL.