Farmers Market Help!

moneysavingmomma

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Ok so as I sit and wait for the things I planted to grow (yes I started late) I am going to go to the farmers market here in town. I have no idea what a good deal on veggies is since I am new to this whole thing, I only know grocery store prices (sad but true). Any suggestions on buying in bulk to use over a few weeks? How do you keep them from going bad? What types of things last for a while? Approx. price that would be a good deal? Any advice will help since I am clueless LOL. Thanks!

moolie

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
What's in season for you right now?

Since prices and availability will vary from place to place I think you just need to talk to local people about what a good price is. Around here if something is in season you notice a glut and subsequent drop in price on that item.

When it comes to keeping for a while, it totally depends on the veggie or fruit. Some things keep quite well in the fridge if you don't smother them in plastic bags (causes ethylene gas buildup so things ripen/rot faster).

I can keep broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, cabbage in tasty condition for a couple of weeks in a tupperware container with a grid on the bottom, lid cracked for everything but the carrots--lettuce keeps up to a week this way. Peas and beans pretty much need fresh eating or blanching/freezing. Cukes and zukes are good on the counter top unless it's really hot, then they do ok in the fridge. Tomatoes on the counter top until you cut into them, refrigerate leftovers if there are any.

Wifezilla

Low-Carb Queen - RIP: 1963-2021
Reaction score
I can't keep zucchini out. It dries out around here so fast.

I have used those green bags in the fridge and they do work pretty well.

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score