Goat Doeling - we lost her :(

Quail_Antwerp

Cold is on the Right, Hot is on The Left
Reaction score
thanks everyone for the advice. Unfortunately, we lost her anyway.

dragonlaurel

Improvising a more SS life
Reaction score
I wish I knew, but maybe somebody will see with the answer soon. :fl I hope she gets better fast.
Big disclaimer. I am Not an expert but I want goats so I've been reading lots on them.

My instincts are saying some B vitamins may help her energy level. If she doesn't want a bottle, maybe smearing a touch of molasses on her mouth will get her started. It's nutritious and might make her remember she likes food/drink. A little ACV in water helps perk animals up too sometimes. I hope her appetite comes back soon, since that's usually a sign an animal is improving.
Some extra body heat may help. Could one of the other animals sleep with her? Does her breathing seem normal?
Can you call a vet for some advice? I wish Blackbird was around. He is young but he is great with goats.

Quail_Antwerp

Reaction score
She is still with us this morning, still weak.

she pooped good during the night - no runs or anything. But, she keeps spitting up and spitting out her cud - if that makes sense.

I keep washing off her face and mouth to keep it cleaned. I think she must have inhaled some of her cud, because her breathing sounds like she has snots in her nose. Almost sounds congested.

I'm still working on getting fluids in her.

Quail_Antwerp

Reaction score
I was finally able to get her to work with me on taking fluids. Then she peed - all over me - and kept peeing and peeing and peeing.

I hope the peeing is a good sign, because she was a bit more alert after and I got her to cooperate with more fluids.

She's now in the front room in a box with me, where I'm still giving her fluids.

Also going to go pick up some Vit B for her as soon as the store opens.

ohiofarmgirl

Sipping Bacon Martinis
Reaction score