Help - are these hens or roosters?

SheriM

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
A few weeks ago, I bought a box of mixed young chickens at a local auction. 3 were standard size and the rest were bantams, so I separated the 3 bigger ones. They are now almost as big as my laying hens and are very crowded in the only cage I have available. I want to move them in with my laying flock, but I'm very new to chickens and don't know for sure if these are males or females. If they are cockerels, the rooster in with the laying flock may get mean with them and I don't want that to happen.

I took head shots of each of them. Can any of you chicken experts out there tell what they are? They're mixed breed, which doesn't help matters. For what it's worth, some of the young bantams I got at the same time are starting to crow, but these three haven't made any attempts at all. Does that mean they might all be hens?

headshot1.jpg

headshot2.jpg

headshot3.jpg

I'm thinking this last one is a hen, but I'm not 100% certain.

reinbeau

Moderator Extraordinaire
Reaction score
No, don't be too quick. I'm thinking only the middle one is a roo. Sheri, post whole body photos, please, not just head shots, so we can get a better view of possible saddle feathers and their tails, that'll make it more definitive.

Javamama

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Do you know how old they are? Full body shots will help.

FarmerChick

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
sexing a chick is not too hard but can you sex a big chicken????

LOL-LOL

can you turn them over and look????

I only buy hens now and have over 200 birds. But I never had to turn over a mature chicken and look! lol

Quail_Antwerp

Cold is on the Right, Hot is on The Left
Reaction score
going by head shots, first one is a pullet, middle one is a roo, and the third on, I need a full body shot, please.