Hypermiling...anyone else do this?

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
I didn't know it had a term already, but I have been doing it for many years and have increased my practice of this since gas prices went so high.

What is hypermiling?

Common

Drivers can increase a vehicle's miles per gallon simply by remaining focused while driving and anticipating the need to brake or accelerate. Hypermilers seek to minimize both braking and rapid acceleration. Another way to improve fuel economy is by planning routes in advance to determine the shortest distance and fewest stops. Fuel can be saved by shutting the engine off, rather than allowing it to idle while stopped or parked. Also, drivers should be conscious of other behaviors that may potentially sap a vehicle's fuel such as running the air conditioning or driving with the windows down.[7]

[edit] Maintenance
Properly inflating tires
Reducing weight load by removing unnecessary objects from vehicle

[edit] Common hypermiling terms
Common terms used in hypermiling are:[8]

FE - fuel economy
DWB - driving without brakes
DWL - driving with load
FAS - forced auto stop, basically coasting with the engine off
P&G - pulse and glide
ICE - internal combustion engine
PP - potential parking
RR - ridge riding
SHM - super highway mode
SAHM - super Atkinson highway mode
rabbit timing
smart braking
face out

[edit] Extreme

Generally, the recommended way to hypermile is using only the common techniques. However, extreme hypermilers have been known to use some controversial techniques:

drafting behind trucks
driving far below the speed limit at times
taking sharp curves at high speeds (to avoid losing energy to braking)
coasting with the engine off
passing red lights or stop signs in areas of low traffic
over-inflating tires to reduce rolling resistance